Confessions of an evolutionary creationist

Anyone who knows me well knows my journey. I had been raised in a christian home my whole life but was a very lukewarm, do really bad stuff all the time, accept Jesus into my heart again type of guy. That had all changed in October when I was challenged in my beliefs and I went down an intellectual journey. There were good times and also really bad times but I was enjoying learning about science and theology. 

My entire life I always thought that being a Christian meant that you had to be really hostile towards evolution and athiests/agnostics. My entire mindset had changed not because of the overwhelming evidence for it, but because I learned you could be a Christian AND believe that God used natural processes such as evolution to get us here. 

I have listened to both sides of the arguments and I have been reading tons of books and listening to podcasts about how to interpret Genesis and how evolution fits into Christianity. I had felt convicted after doing all this because I was shying away from reading the Bible myself and not trusting God to help me through my doubts. 

I heard some pastor preaching and he talked about how he would pray whenever he had doubts and wanted to explore a topic. So I decided to try it. I started praying about some doubts I had and some theological questions I had. And it all felt really great. Then I thought, what if people are right and that evolution/old earth is all false and I am going to hell. 

So I started praying and asked God “what do YOU want me to believe? Am I spouting heresy? Should I be taking every passage in the Bible literally?” I was so scared. Not because I didn’t think I was going to get an answer but I was scared because I thought God would be mad at me. I thought that God would be angry over incorrect beliefs. 

I got one simple answer right when I asked it though. “Follow me” 

As soon as I heard that, my entire mindset changed. 

I realized that Jesus hasn’t called us to be an Evolutionary Creationist, Young Earth Creationist, or even an Intelligent Design advocate, He doesn’t call us to be liberal or conservative. He calls us to follow Him. 

Now I am not saying that you shouldn’t care about theology or science but rather to follow Jesus first. 

I think as Christians we have made it too much about politics and condemning people. Now, after I have said all this, keep in mind that I struggle with these things too. Its so easy to get caught up in politics and how to interpret the Bible but I really feel like Jesus is waiting for everyone and saying “follow me” 

“But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well.”

‭‭Matthew‬ ‭6:33‬ ‭NIV‬‬

Leave a Reply

